March 22, 2023

Guber Poll: Seyi Makinde Floors Folarin, Adelabu, Re-Elected Governor of Oyo State

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, today, declared the incumbent governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, as the winner of Match 18, 2023 guber election in the state.

He was re-elected after defeating his main rivals, Teslim Kolawole Folarin of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and Chief Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord party (A) with landslide margins.

While Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, polled 563,756 votes, Folarin had 256,695 votes, and Adelabu got 38,357 votes.

In announcing the final result, the Returning Officer, RO, for the INEC, Prof. Adebayo Simeon Banire, said Makinde satisfied the law by garnering the highest votes and was declared the winner of the election.

Specifically, Makinde won in 31 local governments of the state, while Folarin only won in two local governments: Irepo and Oorelope in the Oke Ogun area of Oyo State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post 26-Year-Old Lady Wins Kwara Assembly Seat
Next post 35 Year-Old Lawan Musa Ends Yobe Speaker’s 6th Term Ambition