March 22, 2023

35 Year-Old Lawan Musa Ends Yobe Speaker’s 6th Term Ambition

Hon Ahmed Mirwa Lawan, the Speaker of the Yobe State House of Assembly, has been unseated from his position by Lawan Musa, a 35-year-old candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Nguru II Constituency.

This young honorable was born in 1998. He was 5-year, when Rt. Hon. Mirwa was first elected as Member representing Nguru Outside Constituency, Yobe State.

The Honorable Speaker arrested Lawal for his Facebook post, and when the boy regained his freedom, he decided to engage the Honorable at the polls. People were laughing at him and discouraging him, but he kept pushing.

The election was keenly contested, with Musa emerging victorious with a total of 6,648 votes, while Lawan secured 6,466 votes.

The Returning Officer of the election, Dr Habib Muhammad, announced the results and revealed that other candidates of the ADC, NNPP and APM parties received 3,023 and 14 votes respectively.

It is noteworthy that Hon Ahmed Mirwa Lawan had been a member of the House since 2003 when he was elected under the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Guber Poll: Seyi Makinde Floors Folarin, Adelabu, Re-Elected Governor of Oyo State